Most Shared

Top Stories

Top Stories

 
text size

New law allows domestic violence victims to get gun permit quickly

Updated: Tuesday, July 15 2014, 07:12 PM EDT
FRANKFORT, Ky. (Joe Webb) -- A new Kentucky law gave domestic violence victims another weapon to protect themselves.
        
Starting Tuesday, July 15 it was much easier for victims with emergency protective orders to carry a concealed deadly weapon.  While some saw it as a new level of protection, others saw it as a chance to continue the cycle of violence.

Until Tuesday, the sheriff's office was the place in Kentucky to get a concealed carry deadly weapons permit.  A person walked in the door and got the form but couldn't walk out with a permit.  A background check, gun training and certification took some time.  Now anyone with a domestic violence order or emergency protection order from the court can get one, possibly in a day, with only a background check.

Joe Kalil of Defensive Handgun Training, LLC said, "All the bill does is enable somebody who's in potential harm's way and has been threatened and has a legal EPO from the judicial system.  It protects them for 45 days while they actually pursue getting a permit.  I think it's a great idea."
     
After 45 days the person must both complete the gun training and get a permit good for five years or they allow the permit to expire.  Kalil saw it as an added level of protection.  Some feel it acts as an added level of violence.

Theresa Singleton, director for Protection from Abuse at YWCA said, "The YWCA is always going to support a survivor's choice to keep herself safe, whatever it is.  However, we know that violence begets violence and there's got to be a better way to keep domestic violence survivors safe from harm."
         
Change can be difficult for most and very difficult for state governments.  Kenton County sheriff, Chuck Korzenborn, said as of right now, he still may be the only way to get a CCDW.

"The mechanics of this are not in place.  I called the state police this morning. They said there's nothing in place yet to make this work.  And it won't be at least until the fall. Maybe later than that," Korzenborn said.
 
Regardless of the changes in the law, domestic violence victims can buy guns to protect themselves if they choose to.  A person doesn't need a permit to keep a weapon in the home or in the car if it's visible. 

Ohio has a provision in its concealed carry law which allows domestic violence victims to get an emergency license.  Those permits last for 90 days.



Follow Joe Webb on Twitter @joewebbwkrc and LIKE him on Facebook New law allows domestic violence victims to get gun permit quickly


Advertise with us!

Related Stories

 

 

Advertise with us!