Bengals First 50: Numbers 40-31

The Bengals will be playing their 50th season in 2017 (Courtesy Bengals).

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - With 2017 being the 50th season in Bengals franchise history the team is honoring the "First 50," which recognizes the top 50 retired Bengals players as voted on by fans and media.

After revealing places 50-41 on Sunday the team released the list of players voted 40-31 on Monday.

More than 160,000 fan votes were cast, which accounted for 50 percent of the results. The other 50 percent was determined by 24 members of the media who have covered or currently cover the team. The final list features the top 50 retired players who received the most votes, rather than a predetermined number of players at each position.

  • Note: digital sports columnist/editor Richard Skinner will unveil his Bengals all-time top 50 on Monday afternoon.

Ten players will be announced each day at 10 a.m. on with a video countdown and Sunday the second 10 released are as follows:

No. 40 – Solomon Wilcots: Member of Super Bowl XXIII team. Finished third in tackles in 1988. Top-flight special teams player who tied for team lead in special teams tackles in 1989.

No. 39 – Mike Reid: Bengals first round draft selection in 1970. Named top defensive rookie in pro football by several publications. Recorded five sacks in a game in 1972. Made Pro Bowl in 1972 and 1973.

No. 38 – Rich Braham: One of only seven players to log 13 or more seasons with the Bengals. Played in 146 Bengals games, with 142 starts. Recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award in 2001, given to players who best demonstrate commitment to values of sportsmanship and courage.

No. 37 – Eddie Edwards: Bengals first round draft selection in 1977. Member of Super Bowl XVI and XXIII teams. Holds team record for career sacks, with 83.5 sacks. Tied for team record for most sacks in a game, with five against Cleveland in 1980. Had a career-best 13 sacks in 1983. Ranks tenth in team history for games played (170).

No. 36 – Joe Walter: Tied for most seasons played by an offensive lineman (13). Ranks fifth in games played by an offensive lineman (166). Recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award in 1990, given to players who best demonstrate commitment to values of sportsmanship and courage.

No. 35 – Bruce Kozerski: Versatile player who started at all five offensive line positions. Center on the 1988 team that went to the Super Bowl. His 172 games ranks third in team history among offensive linemen.

No. 34 – Coy Bacon: Holds team record for sacks in a season, with 22 sacks in 1976. Made Pro Bowl in 1976 and 1977. One of five defensive linemen in team history to go to back-to-back Pro Bowls.

No. 33 – Jim LeClair: Long-time defensive captain known for being a hard-hitter. Led team in tackles five times (1976, '78-81). Made Pro Bowl in 1976.

No. 32 – Bill Bergey: AFL Defensive Rookie of the Year in 1969. Led team in tackles in 1969, 1970 and 1971. Voted most valuable player by fans in 1970.

No. 31 – Pete Johnson: Holds team record for career rushing touchdowns (64). Fourth in team history for career rushing yards (5421). Led team in rushing seven times. Member of Super Bowl XVI team. Made Pro Bowl in 1981.

Here are the release dates for the other members of the First 50:

  • Tuesday, July 18: Nos. 30-21.
  • Wednesday, July 19: Nos. 20-11.
  • Thursday, July 20: Nos. 10-1.

The Bengals First 50 and other Bengals Legends will be recognized during halftime ceremonies at every regular season home game, which will include video highlights and an on-field presentation.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off