Ohio State offensive duo, UK running back on Maxwell Award watch list

Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett drops back to pass during spring NCAA college football practice Tuesday, March 7, 2017, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - Ohio State senior quarterback J.T. Barrett and sophomore running back Mike Weber are on the initial watch list for the 81st annual Maxwell Award, which has been given to America's College Football Player of the Year since 1937.

The Maxwell Award is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, whose contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

University of Kentucky sophomore running back Benny Snell Jr. is also on the list after he set six UK freshman records in 2016, including most rushing touchdowns in a game (four), most rushing yards by a freshman (1,091), most rushing touchdowns by a freshman (13), most total touchdowns by a freshman (13), most 100-yard rushing games (five) and most rushing yards by a freshman in a single game (192).

The watch list incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast and is headed by returning Maxwell Award winner Lamar Jackson of the University of Louisville.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 30, 2017, and the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 20, 2017. The winner will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 7, 2017.

Following is the entire 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

  • Monday July 10: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
  • Tuesday July 11: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
  • Wednesday July 12: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
  • Thursday July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
  • Friday July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
  • Monday July 17: Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award
  • Tuesday July 18: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
  • Wednesday July 19: Davey O'Brien Award
  • Thursday July 20: Doak Walker Award
  • Friday July 21: Walter Camp Award
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off