Ohio State, UK, Miami tight ends on Mackey Award watch list

Ohio State tight end Marcus Baugh, left, scores a touchdown as Rutgers defenders Anthony Cioffi, center, and Trevor Morris try to tackle him in the first half of an NCAA college football game Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - Ohio State senior Marcus Baugh, University of Kentucky junior C.J. Conrad and Miami senior Ryan Smith are among the 55 tight ends on the preseason watch list for the Mackey Award it was announced on Tuesday morning.

The award has been handed out annually since 2000 to the nation's most outstanding tight end and is named in honor of John Mackey, who played in the NFL from 1963-72, the majority of it with the Baltimore Colts, and was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1992. Mackey is generally considered to have revolutionized the tight end position as both a blocker and a receiver.

Baugh is a fifth-year senior who has started 17 games over the past two seasons, including all 13 last year. He had 24 receptions for 269 yards and two touchdowns in 2016.

Conrad started in 11 of 13 games he played last season and finished with 19 catches for 262 yards and four TDs

Smith started all 13 games in 2016 and recorded 31 catches for 356 yards and five touchdowns on the season. He caught seven passes for 72 yards and a touchdown against Mississippi State in the St. Petersburg Bowl. His grandfather, John Lattner, won the 1953 Heisman Trophy.

The award recipient is selected by a vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Dec. 6, 2017 and then presented live on Dec. 7, 2017 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football, are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the entire 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

  • Monday July 10: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
  • Tuesday July 11: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
  • Wednesday July 12: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
  • Thursday July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
  • Friday July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
  • Monday July 17: Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award
  • Tuesday July 18: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
  • Wednesday July 19: Davey O'Brien Award
  • Thursday July 20: Doak Walker Award
  • Friday July 21: Walter Camp Award
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off