Most Shared

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Severe weather categories to be increased to five

CINCINNATI (Scott Dimmich) -- When The Weather Authority tells you about a risk for severe weather, we classify it as a slight, moderate, or high risk for severe weather.

These risk levels come from the Storm Prediction Center, and they'll soon be expanding the threat into 5 different categories ranging from marginal - the lowest - to high - the highest. In simple terms, the moderate and high risk for severe weather as we know it really won't be changing, and the slight risk will be expanded into marginal, slight, and elevated categories.

When strong tornadoes came through the Ohio Valley on March 2, 2012, we were under a moderate to high risk for severe weather that day. The outlook that day would have been the same for the Ohio Valley had the Storm Prediction used five severe weather risk categories at the time.

On Tuesday, the Storm Prediction Center issued a slight risk for severe storms covering much of New England. Had this same outlook been issued later this year, a marginal risk for severe weather would have been issued for North and South Carolina.

If this seems like a lot to take in, you're not alone.

We took to the streets of Cincinnati to talk to people about the proposed severe weather outlook changes.

Cincinnati resident Carl Crossman said, "The 5 scale one would definitely give me more information, understand what's coming up the coastline, how close we are to it becoming more dangerous, and what could affect my day."

"You want information quick, general information of what is going on, and I think three [categories] are plenty to look at," said Cincinnati resident Leslie Johnson.

Follow Scott Dimmich on Twitter @scottdimmich  and LIKE him on Facebook 





Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!