Most Shared

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

New GCL: One league with three divisions

Dr. Jim Rigg, Director of Educational Services and Superintendent of Catholic Schools for the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, today announced the formation of a new Greater Catholic League for sports at 18 participating Catholic high schools throughout southwest Ohio.

The GCL represents a premier athletic league dedicated to helping each student-athlete reach his or her full spiritual, moral, and physical potential, Dr. Rigg said at a press conference at Receptions Fairfield.

Catholic high school athletics in southwest Ohio have traditionally operated as two separate leagues, the GCL (Greater Catholic League) and the GGCL (Girls Greater Catholic League). With the participation and support of the 18 member schools, the Archdiocese is unifying the two leagues into one new Greater Catholic League with three divisions, each corresponding to a particular type of GCL member school Single-sex Girls, Single-Sex Boys, and Co-Educational.

The new GCL fully reflects the unified nature of our mission as Catholic schools, and will foster organizational efficiencies that will ultimately benefit our student-athletes, Dr. Rigg said. The new GCL also reflects the principles of Lighting the Way: A Vision for Catholic Schools. This Vision, unveiled in August 2012, calls for a number of ambitious new programs designed to foster strong Catholic schools.

Each Division has its own title and logo. Each Division is headed by a Commissioner employed by the Archdiocese.
    The Division representing the Single-Sex Girls Schools is entitled the Girls Greater Catholic League or GGCL. Member schools include McAuley, Mother of Mercy, Mount Notre Dame, Seton, Ursula, and Ursuline High Schools. The Commissioner for the GGCL is Ms. Kim Douthit.
    The Division representing the Single-Sex Boys Schools is entitled the Greater Catholic League South or GCL South. Member schools include Elder, La Salle, Moeller, and St. Xavier High Schools. The Commissioner for the GCL South is Mr. Tom Gamble.
    The Division representing the Co-educational Schools is entitled the Greater Catholic League Co-Ed or GCL Co-Ed. Member schools include Alter, Badin, Chaminade Julienne, Carroll, Fenwick, McNicholas, Purcell-Marian, and Roger Bacon High Schools. The Commissioner for the GCL Co-Ed Division is Mr. Matthew Koenig.

The formation of the new GCL gives us the opportunity to reaffirm the Catholic mission of our high school athletic programs, Dr. Rigg noted. Just as our high schools exist to foster the faith, so, too, do our sports teams.

This Catholic mission will not just be present in how our teams practice and play games. This mission will be present in how we train our coaches and athletic directors, how we orient our parents and fans, and in how we explain and market our programs to the general community.

Sixteen sports are offered in the GCL, and last year more than 500 teams played.

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Cincinnati is the 38th largest Catholic diocese in the country, with almost 500,000 Catholics, and has the sixth largest network of Catholic schools in terms of enrollment.  The 19-county territory includes 214 parishes and 113 Catholic primary and secondary schools. 



Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!