Most Shared

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Shazier Named Lott IMPACT Trophy Semi-Finalist

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. (WKRC) -- Nine of the top student-athletes in college football today have been named semi-finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced today by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the award.

A National Voter Panel will determine the winner and finalists, all of whom will be invited to attend the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet Dec. 8 in Newport Beach.  The National Voter Panel is made up of former college coaches, players, members of the media and past winners and finalists of the Lott Trophy.

The semi-finalists are: Anthony Barr (LB, UCLA), Chris Borland (LB, Wisconsin), Aaron Donald (DT, Pitt), Devon Kennard (DE, USC), James Morris (LB, Iowa), C.J. Mosley (LB, Alabama), Ed Reynolds (S, Stanford), Ryan Shazier (LB, Ohio State) and Kyle Van Noy (LB, BYU).

Six of the nine semi-finalists are linebackers, two are defensive linemen and one a defensive back.  Three of the players are from the Big-Ten, three from the Pac-12, one from the SEC, one from the ACC and one independent.
The Lott IMPACT Trophy, which has now donated more than $1 million to charities, including universities throughout the country, is the only college football award where character counts.  IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The school of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund with each of the runnerups receiving $5,000 for their universities. 
Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott will be the keynote speaker at the banquet, which will be televised live by FOX Sports at 7 p.m. Pacific time.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy Semi-Finalists:
Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin
Aaron Donald, DL, Pitt
Devon Kennard, DE, USC
James Morris, LB, Iowa
C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama
Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford
Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU

Former winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 David Pollack, DE, Georgia
2005 DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
2006 Dante Hughes, DB, Cal
2007 Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
2008 James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
2009 Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
2010 J.J. Watt, DT, Wisconsin
2011 Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
2012 Manti Teo, LB, Notre Dame

Information courtesy The Lott IMPACT Trophy


Getty Images



Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!