Most Shared

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Blackwell named to BIG EAST All-Freshman team

CINCINNATI (WKRC) -- The BIG EAST Conference released its 2014 postseason award winners and All-BIG EAST selections for women's basketball on Wednesday afternoon (March 5). Xavier freshman forward Maddison Blackwell (Gahanna, Ohio/Lincoln HS) was the lone Musketeer to earn a postseason award, earning a spot on the BIG EAST All-Freshman Team.

The lights clicked on for Maddison about three weeks ago and she really started to look comfortable on the floor and confident in her role. Head coach Brian Neal said. It was a great finish to the season and we are certainly looking forward to the next steps in her development.

The Gahanna, Ohio native scored in double figures three times during league play, highlighted by a career-high 21-point performance at Providence (Feb. 22). Blackwell, who notched a career-high 14 rebounds at Butler (Feb. 25), shot 45.7 percent from the field and averaged 6.1 points and 5.3 boards during the 18 conference games, which included shooting 44.7 percent from the floor and averaging 10.6 points and 8.4 rebounds over the last five games.

The Musketeers begin play at the 2014 BIG EAST Women's Basketball Tournament on Saturday, March 8. Xavier enters the tournament as the No. 9 seed and will face No. 8 seed Georgetown at 7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT) at McGrath-Phillips Arena in Chicago, Ill. The winner of Saturday's match-up will face No. 1 seed and tournament host DePaul (24-6, 15-3 BIG EAST) in the quarterfinals on Sunday, March 9 at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. Central).

Image and information provided by Xavier Athletics

 

 

Talkers

Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!