Most Shared

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

UC basketball learns AAC home and away opponents

CINCINNATI (WKRC) -- The University of Cincinnati men's basketball team learned its league pairings for the 2014-15 season on Wednesday when they were announced by American Athletic Conference Commissioner Mike Aresco in Key Biscayne, Florida.

With the addition of East Carolina University, Tulane University and the University of Tulsa in 2014, The American's membership increases to 11 with its basketball teams continuing to play an 18-game conference schedule. Each team will play eight of its 10 opponents twice, and the other two opponents once each - one at home and one away. The complete 2014-15 conference schedule with dates and times will be announced at a later date.

The Bearcats will play UCF, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, Temple and Tulane both home and away next season.  Cincinnati also will play host to USF while traveling to Tulsa.

Cincinnati shared the inaugural regular-season league title with Louisville during the 2013-14 campaign, finishing with a 15-3 conference record. The Bearcats finished 27-7 overall advancing to their fourth consecutive NCAA tournament.

The 2015 American Athletic Conference Championship will be played March 12-15 at the XL Center in Hartford, Connecticut. All 11 American Athletic Conference schools will participate in the championship with the format calling for three first-round games Thursday, March 12; followed by four quarterfinal games on March 13; two semifinals on March 14; and the championship game Sunday afternoon, March 15. The entire American Men's Basketball Championship will be available across ESPN's national outlets.

The American enjoyed tremendous basketball success in 2013-14 with UConn's NCAA Men's and Women's Basketball Championships, which was the second time that the two teams have won national titles in the same season. The American was the only conference to have a team make the final four of all the major postseason college tournaments with SMU playing in the NIT championship game, and USF and Rutgers, the eventual champion, in the women's NIT.

The American's men closed out the 2014 regular season with five teams in the top 25 of both the AP and USA Today polls, four of which earned a bid to the NCAA Championship. The conference had three players named to The Associated Press All-America team: Shabazz Napier of UConn, Sean Kilpatrick of Cincinnati and Russ Smith of Louisville. It marked the first time one conference has had three players selected since the 2001-02 season.

The American's membership in 2014-15 will comprise UCF, Cincinnati, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa.

Home: UCF, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane
Away: UCF, UConn, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa

Information courtesy UC Athletics



Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!