Most Shared

Weather Alert


The National Weather Service in Wilmington has issued a Winter Weather Advisory for Clinton County through 7am Monday. Most in the Tri-State will receive 1" or less of total snowfall accumulation tonight, but accumulations 1" or slightly more are favored in Fayette, Union, Franklin, Butler, Warren, Highland, and Clinton Counties (especially the northernmost communities in each of these counties). Please use caution if traveling tonight.


Weather Alert Radar

LOCAL 12 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Bruce nominated for Hank Aaron Award

NEW YORK (MLB) -- Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that RF Jay Bruce was named the Cincinnati Reds' nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

Fans can vote exclusively online at and the 30 Club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

Bruce was the only player in the Major Leagues in 2013 with at least 43 doubles, 30 home runs and 109 RBI. He ranked among the National League Top 10 in HR (3rd), RBI (T2nd), total bases (4th), doubles (T3rd), extra-base hits (2nd) and outfield assists (13, T3rd) while leading all Major League right fielders in HR, RBI, doubles and extra-base hits.

Over the last 3 seasons Bruce produced 105 doubles and 96 homers, numbers matched only by Detroits Miguel Cabrera. Bruces 208 RBI the last 2 seasons lead all National League batters and tie for sixth-most in the Major Leagues. He is 1 of only 15 players in Major League history to produce at least 20 HR in each of his first 6 seasons and is only the sixth player in Reds history to produce 30 home runs in 3 straight.

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.  These Hall of Famers who combined for 17,629 hits, 8,278 RBI and 1,723 home runs have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

Through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name, said Hank Aaron. The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners.

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

Baltimore Orioles        Chris Davis   
Boston Red Sox            David Ortiz   
Atlanta Braves            Freddie Freeman
Chicago White Sox        Alexei Ramirez   
Cleveland Indians        Jason Kipnis   
Detroit Tigers            Miguel Cabrera   
Houston Astros            Jason Castro   
Kansas City Royals        Eric Hosmer   
LA Angels of Anaheim        Mike Trout   
Minnesota Twins            Joe Mauer           
New York Yankees        Robinson Cano   
Oakland Athletics        Josh Donaldson   
Seattle Mariners        Kendrys Morales   
Tampa Bay Rays            Evan Longoria   
Texas Rangers            Adrian Beltre   
Toronto Blue Jays        Edwin Encarnacion   
Arizona Diamondbacks        Paul Goldschmidt
Chicago Cubs            Nate Schierholtz
Cincinnati Reds            Jay Bruce
Colorado Rockies        Michael Cuddyer
Los Angeles Dodgers        Hanley Ramirez
Miami Marlins            Giancarlo Stanton
Milwaukee Brewers        Carlos Gomez
New York Mets            David Wright
Philadelphia Phillies        Domonic Brown
Pittsburgh Pirates        Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals        Matt Carpenter
San Diego Padres        Will Venable
San Francisco Giants        Hunter Pence
Washington Nationals        Jayson Werth

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).
The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruths all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years. 


Getty Images



Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!