Is That Right? Age limits for e-cigarettes where you live?
CINCINNATI (WKRC) - “This, I’m vaping on right now is actually root beer candy,” Benji Hinson said, as he exhales a huge cloud of vapor from his super-sized vaping module.
Hinson is part of a growing number of people who love to vape. According to a survey published in the Annals of Internal Medicine, nearly 11 million adults now regularly vape.
Many, like Robby Nelson, say they turned to vaping to replace cigarettes.
"It definitely changed my life," Nelson said.
While several studies indicate vaping is far less harmful than smoking cigarettes, there are still some risks involved with vaping.
And when it comes to children, the risk in the rising use of vaping products is centered on creating an addiction to the core ingredient: Nicotine.
A National Youth Survey in 2017 found 11.7 percent of high school students had vaped in the last 30 days. The same survey found 3.3 percent of middle school students admit they vaped within the same time frame. Many people believe that’s happening because there isn’t an age limit for vaping.
That’s WRONG. In August of 2015, a new federal minimum age for vaping went into effect, which prohibits sales of vaping products to anyone 17-years-old or younger.
Some states have gone further. Utah and Alabama require you to 19 years old or older to buy vaping products. California, Hawaii, New Jersey, Maine and Oregon pushed their minimum vaping age to 21.
So, while some teens say they have a right to vape, they’re “blowing smoke,” because a federal law reveals that statement to be WRONG.