Bengals Dunlap nominated for 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Cincinnati Bengals defensive end Carlos Dunlap (96) scores a touchdown on an interception in the second half of an NFL football game, Sunday, Oct. 29, 2017, in Cincinnati. (AP Photo/Frank Victores)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - Bengals DE Carlos Dunlap has been nominated for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. The winner will be revealed at NFL Honors before Super Bowl LII.

Dunlap is one of 32 player nominees for the fourth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, Dec.15. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

Past recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award are Frank Gore of the Indianapolis Colts (2016), Charles Woodson of the Oakland Raiders (2015) and Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals (2014).


  • Arizona Cardinals CB Patrick Peterson
  • Atlanta Falcons S Ricardo Allen
  • Baltimore Ravens QB Joe Flacco
  • Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander
  • Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly
  • Chicago Bears RB Benny Cunningham
  • Cincinnati Bengals DE Carlos Dunlap
  • Cleveland Browns T Joe Thomas
  • Dallas Cowboys C Travis Frederick
  • Denver Broncos LB Von Miller
  • Detroit Lions DT Haloti Ngata
  • Green Bay Packers S Morgan Burnett
  • Houston Texans P Shane Lechler
  • Indianapolis Colts WR T.Y. Hilton
  • Jacksonville Jaguars LB Paul Posluszny
  • Kansas City Chiefs QB Alex Smith
  • Los Angeles Chargers TE Antonio Gates
  • Los Angeles Rams G Rodger Saffold
  • Miami Dolphins G Jermon Bushrod
  • Minnesota Vikings DE Brian Robison
  • New England Patriots WR Matthew Slater
  • New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees
  • New York Giants T Justin Pugh
  • New York Jets QB Josh McCown
  • Oakland Raiders QB Derek Carr
  • Philadelphia Eagles TE Brent Celek
  • Pittsburgh Steelers DE Cameron Heyward
  • San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley
  • Seattle Seahawks DE Cliff Avril
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy
  • Tennessee Titans QB Marcus Mariota
  • Washington Redskins TE Vernon Davis

Information provided by Cincinnati Bengals

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off