Former Bengals player finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Former Bengals wide receivers Terrell Owens (81) and Chad Johnson (85) are both Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees. (AP/Stephan Savoia)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - A former Bengals wide receiver is one of the 15 finalists for the modern-era Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

Terrell Owens is that finalist, and he played his final NFL season for the Bengals in 2010 catching 72 passes for 983 yards and nine touchdowns at the age of 37.

He recently criticized NFL owners for blackballing him from the league due to politics rather than his age.

Owens finished his career with 1,078 receptions for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns. He ranks eighth in NFL history in career receptions, second in career receiving yards and third in career touchdowns.

Star linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher are among four first-time eligible former players selected among the 15 modern-era finalists.

Receiver Randy Moss and guard Steve Hutchinson also made the cut to the finals in their first year of eligibility.

They join Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Brian Dawkins, Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin James, Ty Law, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae, Terrell Owens and Everson Walls for consideration.

The seniors committee has nominated guard Jerry Kramer and linebacker Robert Brazile. The contributor's nominee is Bobby Beathard, a former general manager and administrator for five franchises.

Voting by the Hall of Fame selectors will be Feb. 3 in Minneapolis. Inductions will be in August at the Canton, Ohio, shrine.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent during the annual selection meeting.

Click here for more on the finalists.

Click here for the fan vote for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off