Two area prep products, four Buckeyes, UK LB, Miami DB on Nagurski list

Ohio State defensive end Sam Hubbard, left, and defensive end Jalyn Holmes, celebrate their sack against Tulsa quarterback Dane Evans during the first half of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Sept. 10, 2016, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) - Moeller High School graduate Sam Hubbard and Colerain High School graduate Tegray Scales are among the 103 defensive players on the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List it was announced on Thursday morning.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented to the top college football defensive player in the nation. The Football Writers Association of America has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993 and in 1995 the FWAA named the award in honor of Nagurski the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Hubbard, a defensive end at Ohio State, is one of four Buckeyes to make the list. The others are: defensive end Nick Bosa, linebacker Jerome Baker and defensive end Tyquan Lewis.

Scales is a linebacker at Indiana University.

Also on the list are University of Kentucky linebacker Jordan Jones and Miami cornerback Heath Harding.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. As in previous seasons, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, each week’s honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 16.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center. In addition to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner’s announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Notre Dame’s Ross Browner, a member of the FWAA’s 1976 and 1977 All-America Teams, the 1976 Outland Trophy winner and a College Football Hall of Famer, will be honored. Georgia head coach Kirby Smart will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football, are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the entire 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off