Former Reds player, broadcasters among Frick Award finalists

Former Reds player/broadcaster Joe Morgan, along with former Cincinnati broadcasters Al Michaels and Pee Wee Reese, are among Frick Award finalists (MGN Online)

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (AP/WKRC) - Bob Costas, Al Michaels and Joe Buck are among the finalists for the Hall of Fame's 2018 Ford Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Don Drysdale, Dizzy Dean, Joe Morgan and Pee Wee Reese, a quartet in the Hall of Fame for their playing careers, also are among the finalists, the Hall said Monday.

Buddy Blattner also is on the ballot, which rotates among national broadcasters (the 2018 ballot), early voices (next in 2019) and team-specific announcers (2020).

Morgan, a second baseman who was enshrined into Cooperstown as a player in 1990, played with the Reds from 1972 to 1979. He was named an All-Star in each of his eight seasons in Cincinnati and won back-to-back MVP awards as a key member of the Big Red Machine. Morgan was inducted into the Reds Hall of Fame in 1987 and his number 8 was retired by the Reds in 1998. Morgan started his broadcasting career with the Reds in 1985.

Michaels was the team's radio broadcaster for the Reds from 1971 to 1973, giving way to Marty Brennaman.

Reese, a Hall of Fame player, was a Reds television broadcaster in 1969 and 1970.

Voting will be conducted by 11 living winners and four broadcast historians/columnists. The winner will be announced Dec. 13 at the winter meetings in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off