Miami and UC extend football rivalry through 2029

Miami and UC extended their football rivalry through 2029, playing each year for the Victory Bell. (WKRC) 

OXFORD, Ohio (WKRC) - A series that dates back to 1888 has now been extended. Miami University Athletics Director David Sayler and University of Cincinnati Director of Athletics Mike Bohn announced Monday morning that the series between the two schools will continue through 2029.

"One of the best aspects of college athletics is community - in that it brings people together and rivalry games with history play a large role in that,” said Sayler. “I am thankful to Mike Bohn for working with us on this and I am excited for the future of the series, including the games at Paul Brown Stadium where both schools will be partners in making those contests into feature events for all our great fans in and around the region to join in on."

Upcoming Series Dates

  • Sept. 16, 2017 at Miami
  • Sept. 8, 2018 at Paul Brown Stadium
  • Sept. 14, 2019 at Cincinnati
  • Sept. 19, 2020 at Miami
  • Sept. 4, 2021 at Cincinnati
  • Sept. 17, 2022 at Paul Brown Stadium
  • Sept. 16, 2023 at Cincinnati
  • Sept. 14, 2024 at Miami
  • Sept. 6, 2025 at Cincinnati
  • Sept. 19, 2026 at Paul Brown Stadium
  • Sept. 11, 2027 at Miami
  • Sept. 9, 2028 at Cincinnati
  • Sept. 8, 2029 at Miami

The extension includes five home games for both schools and three games at Paul Brown Stadium, home of the Cincinnati Bengals. Miami will serve as the host institution for the 2018 and 2022 games at Paul Brown Stadium with UC as the host in 2026.

The series continues this Saturday, Sept. 16 at Yager Stadium in Oxford, Ohio at 8 p.m. It will be the 122nd meeting between the two schools with Miami holding a 59-55-7 all-time series advantage over the Bearcats. Of the 121 meetings, 53 have been decided by seven points or less.

Information courtesy Miami Univ Athletics

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off